General data  
Grand Prix season/s 1950 – 1952
Racing drivers Alberto Ascari, Luigi Villoresi, Piero Taruffi, Dorino Serafini, Jose Froilan Gonzales, Giuseppe Farina
Race numbers Various
VIN span 1 – 7
Number produced 7
Presentation Grand Prix Italy 1950
Technical Specifications  
Chassis Type Steel tubular frame, two oval longitudinal chassis beams
Length Approx. 3937 mm
Width Approx. 1428 mm
Height Approx. 960 mm
Wheelbase 2320 mm
Front track 1278 mm
Rear track 1250 mm
Front suspension Independent wheel suspension, double delta wishbones, transverse leaf springs, Houdaille lever-type shock absorbers
Rear suspension De Dion rear suspension, transverse leaf springs, Houdaille lever-type shock absorbers, double trailing links per side
Front tyres 5.50 x 16“
Rear tyres 7.50 x 17“
Tyres Pirelli and Englebert tread tyres
Wheels Borrani wheels with wired spokes and central locking
Front brakes Hydraulically operated aluminium drum brakes
Rear brakes Hydraulically operated aluminium drum brakes
Weight Approx. 720 kg, including oil and water

Fuel tank

195 litres

Body material Aluminium
Type Lampredi front engine
Number of cylinders V12 – 60°
Displacement 4494 ccm
Bore and stroke 80 x 74,5 mm
Camshaft 1 overhead per cylinderbank
Valves 2 per cylinder
Valve control Valve springs
Compression ratio 11:1
Lubrication Dry sump
Ignition Single ignition, 2 magnetos
Fuel management 3 Weber twin carburettors, type 42 DCF or type 46 DCF
Maximum power Approx. 360 – 380 hp – 7.500 rpm
Gearbox 4 gears + rev., transaxle construction
Clutch Multi disc clutch
Engine weight Approx. 195 kg
Team manager Federico Giberti
Design engineer/s
Engine Aurelio Lampredi
  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Good to know:

  • Regulations: Only the best four races counted towards the championship
  • First Ferrari Grand Prix victory by Jose Froilan Gonzales: Grand Prix England – Silverstone 1951.
  • 2nd place in Drivers World Championship by Alberto Ascari 1951 with 25 points. Total points: 28
  • 3rd place in Drivers World Championship by Jose Froilan Gonzalez 1951 with 24 points. Total points: 27
  • 2 Grand Prix victories 1951 by Alberto Ascari – Nürburgring and Monza
  • 1 Grand Prix victory 1951 by Jose Froilan Gonzales – Silverstone