General data
Grand Prix season/s 1956
Racing drivers Juan Manuel Fangio, Eugenio Castellotti, Maurice Trintignant, Peter Collins, Paul Frere, Luigi Musso, Olivier Gendebien, Alfonso de Portago, André Pilette
Race numbers Various
VIN span 0001 – 0010
Number produced 5 or 6
Technical Specifications
Chassis Steel tubular frame
Length 3850 mm
Width 1448 mm
Height 962 mm
Wheelbase 2280 mm
Front track 1270 mm
Rear track 1270 mm
Front suspension Independent wheel suspension, double wishbones, transverse leaf springs, Houdaille lever-type shock absorbers Later changed over to coil springs and telescope shock absorbers
Rear suspension De Dion rear suspension, transverse leaf springs, Houdaille lever-type shock absorbers, double trailing links per side
Front tyres 16“, 5.50 x 16“
Rear tyres 16“, 7.00 x 16“
Tyres Englebert tread tyres
Wheels Borrani wheels with wired spokes and central locking
Front brakes Hydraulically operated bimetal drum brakes
Rear brakes Hydraulically operated bimetal drum brakes
Weight Approx. 645 kg
Fuel tank Approx. 190 litres, mounted in the rear end
Body material Aluminium
Type Front engine, 12° inclined position to centre-line
Number of cylinders V8 – 90°
Displacement 2486 ccm
Bore and stroke 76 x 68,5 mm
Camshaft 2 overhead per cylinderbank
Valves 2 per cylinder
Valve control Valve springs
Compression ratio 11,9:1
Lubrication Dry sump
Ignition Magneti Marelli double ignition
Fuel management 4 Solex twin carburettors, type 40 PII
Maximum power Approx. 265 hp – 8.000 rpm
Gearbox 5 gears + rev., transaxle construction
Clutch 2 disc clutch
Engine weight
Team manager Eraldo Sculati
Design engineer/s Lancia and Ferrari
Engine Vittorio Jano
0001, 0002, 0003, 0007, 0008, 0010

Good to know:

  • Regulations: Only the best five races counted towards the championship
  • As far as we know there is no original car left over
  • Im Laufe der Saison wurden die seitlichen fuel tanks in die body integriert, diese blieben allerdings leer, da ja Fuel tank zentral im Heck montiert war
  • bodydesign wurde mehrmals modifiziert
  • 3rd Drivers World Championship for Ferrari, first and only Drivers World Championship title  for Juan Manuel Fangio with Ferrari. Fangio needed 30 points for the victory
  • 2 Grand Prix victories by Juan Manuel Fangio
  • 2 Grand Prix victories by Peter Collins
  • 1 joined Grand Prix victory by Juan Manuel Fangio and Luigi Musso